Captain Hyrule: The Twilight Soldier

Captain Hyrule: The Twilight Soldier

I’m going to start putting a lot more up here. Since I left my job late last year. I have been hyper-focused on my artwork.

This little number is an exciting step in the right direction. Most of you are probably familiar with what is going on here. For those who don’t know, This is a mashup using the Marvel Characters, Captain America and Winter Soldier, and Legend of Zelda’s Link and Dark Link. I was inspired by a particular sketch I was working on and some conceptual art from Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

This painting holds even more significance for me than it did a day ago because it was the first I tried to share with the world. I submitted the work to quite a few geek sites. It’s a weird feeling when those sites don’t even bother with rejection letters. Feelings like,”maybe the staff has so much to go through that I got lost in the shuffle…” or, “They just don’t like it and don’t care…”. And that was only after a few minutes of posting!

Then I got an email back from Kotaku.com. The author liked my painting and wanted to put it on the site http://kotaku.com/thats-one-cool-unexpected-marvel-nintendo-mashup-by-ar-1565980991. It started to get quite a bit of hits. I can confidently say that it’s the first piece of work that I’ve share on the internet that got over 100 views… 1,243 at the time of this post to be exact! For me that’s pretty big. Even though I didn’t gain more twitter followers from that(which could be attributed to the fact that I forgot to update my Behance.net profile during this surge of views), I did get more Behance appreciations than ever before compared to my other two profile pieces. The most appreciations(relative to “likes” on Facebook) on Behance.net I ever got before was 1. This one earned 31, three of those during the writing of this post.

Needless to say, I am a very proud panda right now.

Expect to see much more here. That painting is the first of many.

Leave a Reply

